Important Notice:
Due to time constraints, I am not accepting any review requests. Thank you for your understanding.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Book Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Author: Sarah J Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Audience: New Adult
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: May 5th 2015
My Rating: 5 cups
Source: Personal Copy
Blurb (from Goodreads):
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 photo Image1.png


I've had my eye on this series for a while now, ever since my Twitter feed basically exploded with talks about Rhysand and Feyre and Tamlin, and since the gorgeous covers flooded the world of bookstagram. I am glad I decided to read this book, I do however regret not having A Court Of Mist and Fury to pick up immediately after finishing this one.

I'll be completely honest and say that I didn't know what to expect. Aside from the aforementioned Twitter convos I've seen, I've managed to stay away from any and all spoilers, so aside from the fact that this was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, I knew nothing about this book.

Feyre is such a great heroine. I like that she's a strong, independent, "I-can-take-care-of-myself-and-my-family" young woman. I hated her family and how they treated her, but I loved her. She was stronger than anyone else would have been, and in those first pages of the book, when she's with her family and she describes how they treated her and how basically she was the only one keeping her sisters and her dad alive, I would not have blamed her for giving up, for saying "I'm done". Mad respect for her for not doing just that.

Given how Feyre was raised, to hate and fear all faeries, I feel like this book was a mirroring of the old fairytale, with "Beast" taming the Beauty. I liked that aspect, I like reading about people learning the truth about something or someone, despite the fear and hate they've been taught to feel from when they were infants.

Tamlin....My dear Tamlin. See, there were moments where I didn't like the guy as much as I should have, because he was always quiet and not talking about stuff, and then the ending happened and I understood it all, his silence, the half-answers, everything made sense.

My favorite character, though, was Lucien. I kept wishing he'd get more page-time. I keep hoping that the future books will focus on him more, because I need more Lucien! He was funny, he was awesome. Although he wasn't as kind with Feyre as I wanted at first, the ending, like with Tamlin, made it all make so much more sense.

Mad props for Maas for making Amarantha a true villain. That woman scared the crap outta me. She was just as evil as a villain should be, and just as deranged. I wonder if the next books will have a villain each.

Another reason for me to like this book is that, despite my misgivings with certain characters, like Nesta and Rhysand (I know, I know!), I got to understand the reasons of each character for behaving a certain way. It makes complete sense, now that I've finished the book, for Rhysand to act like he did, just like I completely understand Nesta for hating their dad. And I know I said on Twitter that I hope I never get to read about her again, I wonder if Nesta managed to escape and live a better life. I want to learn about her and how she's going to deal with.... something that happened at the end of the book.

If there's one thing I'd love to see, and if you guys know any fan art with this, let me know, is the Prythian map, as described by Feyre. There's this scene where she's describing a mural with the map, and the imagery is so gorgeous, that I'd love to see that in real life, with how the various Courts are painted and how the map is colored. Also, the cover makes complete sense now!

All in all, I'm super happy I read this book and I cannot wait to get my hands on ACOMAF and then the long wait for the next book starts. Also, I cannot wait for the coloring book!


Rocked my world photo Image9.png

No comments:

Post a Comment

You May Like

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...